Wasps Legends Golf Classic in La Manga raises £130,000

Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation, the past players network of Wasps men and women, amateur and professional, held their annual ‘World Rugby Golf Classic’ in La Manga in June 2017.

The Golf Classic brings together Rugby and other sporting legends to play with 40 teams in a two day golf tournament to raise money for the Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation.

Wasps Legends Damian Cronin, Mark Rogers, Peter Scrivener, Serge Betsen, Paul Rendall, Matt Leek, Nicky Robinson, Ken Moss, Jonny Ufton and Mark Denny were joined by other Legends of the game including Mike Roberts, Tom Shanklin, Andy Powell, Brian Redpath, Simon Halliday, Phil De Glanville and Matt Perry to name a few legends. All the teams were entertained by their sporting stars, which boasted caps from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Australia, France, the British and Irish Lions and the Barbarians.

Teams were also treated to three charity dinners, which all contributed to the charity fundraising over the weekend, which raised over £130,000.

Genevieve Glover, Chair of Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation, said: “this was a fantastic weekend where, in a Lions year, we used our rugby network to raise money for some fantastic causes. We are very proud to have linked with Help for Heroes again this year to fund 12 Rugby Wheelchairs and were delighted to have some of their ex-servicemen compete in the golf and share their inspirational journeys at our gala dinner. We are especially proud that Bernie Broad joined us again before he departs to captain the Invictus Games team”

The money raised will benefit the Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation charities and small grants and a donation will be made to Help for Heroes, to fund their Rugby Wheelchairs.

Peter Scrivener, Trustee for the Wasps Legends Charitable Foundation summed up the weekend: “Everyone had a great weekend and we raised a huge amount for charity which exceeded all our expectations. We are already looking forward to welcoming everyone back to La Manga next year. Congratulations go to Under Armour for winning the team competition and Ken Moss for winning the Individual Player competition.

Watch the video here.